Skip to content

Final call for RCVS Council nominations

22 January 2007

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons (RCVS) calls for nominations for election to its governing body, the RCVS Council. The deadline is 31 January 2007.

RCVS Council comprises 40 members, including 24 elected members (all veterinary surgeons), 12 veterinary school representatives and four members appointed by Privy Council. The latter are currently the Chief Veterinary Officer, an MP, a farmer and a consumer affairs specialist.

Six of the elected members will retire at the end of the current Council year (6 July 2007) and are eligible for re-election, they are:

  • Dr L A Brown BVSc BA PhD MBA FRCVS
  • Professor S M Crispin MA VetMB BSc PhD DVA DVOphthal DipECVO FRCVS
  • Mr R G Eddy BVetMed DipECBHM FRCVS
  • Dr R N W Ellis BVSc PhD MRCVS
  • Mrs L V Hill MVB MBA MRCVS
  • Mr R P Moore BVM&S MRCVS

Nominations are invited. Those nominated must be RCVS members and be supported by two proposers, also RCVS members. Successful candidates would serve for a four-year period, from July 2007.

Both nominees and their proposers must be resident outside the Republic of Ireland, unless they have retained their right to vote in Council elections in accordance with the Veterinary Surgeons (Agreement with the Republic of Ireland) Order 1988.

Council members are expected to spend approximately six to ten days on RCVS business during a typical year, although this will vary according to which committees and subcommittees the Council member sits on. A loss of earnings allowance is payable to employers.

Contact the RCVS for more information or a nomination form, which must be completed and returned by 31 January 2007, by emailing the Executive Office at

Voting papers will be distributed to all members of the College who are eligible to vote on or before 14 March 2007.

Read more news